Kirkleatham events in 2018

Guided walks around Kirkleatham village and talks at Kirkleatham Museum

A programme of leisurely guided walks around historic Kirkleatham is being held throughout spring and summer. Each walk, led by a different expert, will consider different aspects of this intriguing village including its archaeology, history, architecture and heritage and will include access to buildings not usually open to the public.

Commencing at the entrance to Kirkleatham Museum at 1pm they will last for a duration of approximately 90 minutes, and the cost will be £1.

Sunday 3rd June: Concluding visit to an archaeological excavation in the village, led by Dr Stephen Sherlock.

Sunday 1st July: 'Kirkleatham Hall: Its Walled Garden and Park' led by Stewart Ramsdale.

Sunday 5th August: 'Kirkleatham in Two World Wars' led by Stuart Macmillan.

Sunday 2nd September: 'Kirkleatham: Church, Mausoleum and Village' led by Stewart Ramsdale.

 

A season of talks on a broad range of topics is being held at Kirkleatham Museum throughout the summer and autumn. All talks will commence at 2pm and last around 50 minutes, followed by a Q&A with the speaker. Admission is £3 including light refreshments.

Tuesday 5th June: 'The End of Steam: The Decline and Fall of the Steam Locomotive... Almost!' by Steve Frost.

Tuesday 3rd July: 'The Loss of the SS Rohilla: The Tragic Wreck off Whitby' by Philip Boville.

Tuesday 4th September: 'The Kirkleatham Estate: Its Historic Buildings Past and Present' by Phil Philo.

Tuesday 2nd October: 'Redcar in Old Photographs: A Fresh Selection to Stir the Memories' by Ernie Crust.

Tuesday 6th November: 'How to Spend £250,000!: Restoring the Historic Features of the Wm Turner Almshouses' by Peter Sotheran.

Tuesday 4th December: 'Madagascar: The Rain Forest, the Pandas and the Poverty' by Roy Lucas.

 

Venue: Kirkleatham Museum, TS10 5NW. For more infomation call 01642 479500.